Nature

What do you feel when you go for a walk? The smell of the trees, the fresh air, the sounds of the birds and sometimes the complete silence. It is something that can have a significant effect on someone. Nature can provide indescribable feelings. It can be an escape from the business of life, or a reminder of the world we live in. Nature is all around us, but often something that goes without thought or consideration. When we allow ourselves more time to be immersed in nature, we can really grow and better ourselves. The feelings we get from nature are important and something that can be very effective self-care.

Something that makes the benefits of nature hard to pin down is how it can support us spiritually. Nature can remind us of our place within the universe. Almost like a form of meditation or prayer, being in nature can give us a sense of peace with ourselves and the world around us. There can be a true sense of wonder when you see a waterfall, cliff or forest. This also contributes to environmental wellness, the idea that the surrounding places can contribute to our wellbeing. It's undeniable how nature can change people's mood, perspective, and mindfulness. It's also important to note how nature often plays a role in the physical wellness of many. Physical activity in nature is extremely common. I like to think the combination of physical and environment wellness is what makes this appealing to so many.

There are so many hobbies that involve nature. Hiking, fishing, skiing, biking, running, photography, and gardening. These activities bring us out to nature and can really let us appreciate it and take it in. I think one of the most effective ways to include nature into self-care is taking nature walks. This is an activity that often puts everything else aside and brings nature to the forefront. It really helps bring the peace and contemplation that nature can provide.

For me, I really like taking care of plants. Having them in my personal space really means a lot to me, and I like to care for them and watch them grow. It's a way to bring nature into my life when I live in a more urban environment, and it means a lot to me. I also really like taking nature walks when I can. I love doing little things like identifying trees, looking for animals and looking at wild plants and flowers. Sometimes nature as self-care can be as simple for me as looking out the window on a rainy day. It’s such a small thing, but it really brings a lot of different emotions and feelings to me. I love nature!